Finally getting my geekout with WordPress Jetpack

Jetpack WordPress pluginIt’s been a long time been a long lonely, lonely lonely…

You know how it is, get all excited, find a blog layout you like, write a blog post and then….blank.

Then I started playing with Jetpack.

I’ve been a self-hosted WordPress blogger for about 3 years, in them there days when blogs broke easily.

I like the intellectual challenge of fixing software so it’s been lots of fun (and still is).

Yesterday – Eureka – Jetpack!

Yesterday somehow my brain made 20 connections at once and figured out that the Jetpack WordPress plugin would be a good thingand I didn’t even have to leap naked out of the bath in front of others to get a good result.

I had tried Jetpack in the past but it made nasty errors and a mess out of my Thesis 1.8 site Mom On A Spiritual Journey.  So I gave up for a while.

Then I found this review from Harley Alexander and decided to give it another try.

Success!

Why it worked better this time – (I think)

  1. I have the most up to date version of WordPress on the Mom Blog (well, 3.5.1).
  2. I also have Thesis 1.8.5 on there now.  (Yes, I know there’s two new versions I need to catch up on).
  3. Somehow I got my head around the whole thing.

I’ve also added Jetpack to my Online Services Site New World Energetics.  That uses a free Responsive theme called ‘Sensitive’ by WPEden.  All going well there except for the WordPress ‘Like’ tool, which seems to take a while to wake up.

Don’t switch on that Photon option on the Jetpack control board though if you have this theme.  It made a mess of my graphics in my about page (my picture disappeared!) and on the front page where the posts are featured.  Other than that, good.

Also added Jetpack to The Personal Energy Practice blog site.  Still kept the Really Simple Share plugin, but nice to add the excellent WordPress sharing buttons to the bottom of the posts.  Another free Responsive Theme (same as this one!) called Responsive.

Can’t help but geek out when I see how well these themes work on androids, iPhones and tablets.

What’s the latest Eureka you’ve had?  Feel free to share.

More later…now that I’ve got myself organized here.

2 thoughts on “Finally getting my geekout with WordPress Jetpack

  1. This is my personal first time i visit here. I ran across so many enjoyable stuff with your blog, particularly its conversation. From the plenty of comments on your own posts, I guess I am not on your own having every one of the enjoyment here! Keep up the wonderful work.

Ready for a spirited geeky discussion? I'm all ears.

