Women in the US, stop looking at me with your zigzag eyes and treat me as a sister

Cultural objectification

Just read this beautiful and eye-opening article by Maria Catt at the Tusk – Wild Creatures.

Thank you so much for sharing your stories Maria.

The livestock competition as you so aptly put it started thousands of years ago with kings and men deciding how women should look in each culture.  Search for ‘pics of women in Bogota’ and you will find women with large curvy thighs and butts as well as large boobs (or if they don’t have them, perhaps they will find a way).

In the United States how women look is one of the new ways to achieve cultural nobility – as opposed to the UK where it used to be the family you were born into.  For example, in Henry VIII’s realm, if you were a woman you expected to be looked at as if you were a racehorse and/or a piece of meat – and be thankful for the privilege.

I have found my body type more criticized in the USA than in any other country I have visited or lived.  There is silent criticism with the eyes if nothing else more verbal from many women, and more verbal it can sometimes be.

Many of these sisters are not awake to themselves or others.  I’m glad you are Maria.  Women have been taught this way – it comes in handy when a person needs to reduce a woman’s energy, vibrance and vibration and keep her objectified.

I married a US Navy Pilot

Yes, yes I did.  But without foreknowledge or fair warning of where it might take me with the US sisterhood.  I was raised in a small British village and no-one in my family was connected to the military.  One day when we were still dating my future husband said to me

I really like all of your friends – none of them seem to be bitchy or say anything negative about you.

Ouch.  Wonder why he said that I thought to myself at the time.

Oh.  When I joined the US Navy wives club (unfortunately sometimes referred to as the ‘Navy Knives’ club – hopefully not so much now), I found out.  This was when I discovered the US phenomenon of the zig zag eyed sisterhood.

Zig Zag  Eyes

When another woman sizes you up in the US culture (and they are…literally….sizing you up) watch their eyes.  They zig zag.  Start at the top, face, balance, features, make-up?, state of hair do, breasts, dimensions of breasts, proportion of breasts to waist, size of hips, length of leg, shoes, manicure?, pedicure? and then the resultant facial expression.  Uh oh.  You have just been found wanting.

Whaaaat?  I’ve experienced this behavior many times in the US…and also thank g-d met many friendly women who do not do this.  Just spend some time watching the Kardashians and watch out for their zig zags.  You’ll see it guaranteed…because perfect form and shape is the new nobility.  You have just been scored…and by a woman!

I’m a Brit – if I was still living in the UK I may be hiding my body under a raincoat by now which would at least be more comfortable

As it is in the US I have no way to do that, so I get looked at a lot.  I don’t enjoy many of the looks.  I am a big, tall, woman.  Let’s just leave it at that.

I have two daughters who are US citizens and am working hard with both of them.  I know this generation is getting somewhere.  Both my girls have good appetites and appreciate the value of exercise.  I was very pleased to hear my younger daughter react to a photograph of an older woman in a fashion magazine the other day…she said

Yay!  They haven’t airbrushed the wrinkles out!

Younger women are helping us to wake up to centuries of nasty Akashic Energy and cultural mores which have kept the female human animal in check

It really is time that we asked ourselves why?  Why do we zig zag other women and what does it do for us and our sisters?

I’m hopeful that with many women objecting to airbrushed photographs, more realistic body models being shown in mainstream stores and greater awareness of objectification and sexual abuse, we can start to put this energy to bed and get on with some of the more fun aspects of human existence.

Do you zig zag?

Check yourself next time you look at a magazine article or meet a new woman.  Who put that program in your head?

 

 

Ready for a spirited geeky discussion? I'm all ears.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

